For question regarding inmate status, bond amounts, or concerns, contact the number listed below 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Be advised that corrections officers and telecommunicators do not relay messages to inmates.

Coles County Jail Contact Number: (217) 348-7332

Corrections Supervisor: Lt. Lisa Tillis

The Coles County Jail is located at 701 7th St in Charleston Illinois. To get to the Coles County Jail from Route 16, turn north on 7th street (a one-way street) at the Eastern Illinois University Old Main building and drive until you pass Harrison Ave. The jail will be just past the bottom of the hill on your right.

Mail and Letters


All inmates are encouraged to maintain ties with their friends and families. Please note the following rules and regulations before sending any items to an inmate:

  • No items with glitter, glue, tape, stickers, labels or other adhesives.
  • Do not send blank stationary or blank greeting cards.
  • No Polaroid pictures.
  • No cash, coins, phone cards, credit cards, or checks. You may send a money order.
  • Do not send electronic items or devices.
  • Do not send mail that requires a delivery signature.
  • Do not send smoking materials. The Coles County Jail is a non-smoking facility.
  • Do not send books, magazines or newspapers to an inmate. Newspapers must be NEW and sent directly from the publisher.
  • Money orders are accepted via mail, and any money orders must be made payable to the inmate.
  • Incoming mail must include the senders name and address

Any cash or coins found in the mail will be returned to the sender. Any mail addressed to an inmate who has been transferred or released will be returned to the sender.

Any mail containing prohibited items will be placed in the inmate's property and not given to the inmate.

Incoming mail shall be delivered to the inmates within 24 hours after receipt, except on weekends and holidays.

Mail and letters to an inmate should be addressed as follows:
701 7th St

Posting Bond

Bond may be posted 24 hours a day, 365 days of the year. Bond must be in the form of cash (exact amount) or credit card.

Please be advised that there is a $23.00 bail bond processing fee that will be assessed to every bail bond processed by the Sheriff's Office, as is allowed per Illinois State Statute.

The bail bond processing fee will be added to the total bond fee amount. For example, posting a $200 bond will cost a total of $223 due to the processing fee. If there was a Failure to Appear Warrant, another example would be: posting a $500 bond, plus the FTA Fee of $75, plus the $23 bond fee, the total due would be $598. This does not apply to credit cards, as credit card payments have additional fees.

There are credit card processing fees for paying bond, for more information about these fees please visit the website: Please remember to bring a photo ID for verification when paying with your credit card, as your photo ID must match the information printed on your credit card.


You may surrender yourself to the jail any time of the day, any day of the year. Please report to the front counter at the Coles County Jail. If you are surrendering as part of delayed sentencing, you must bring a photo ID and your court sentencing paperwork. Please report for all sentencing to the rear entrance.

If you are surrendering for an arrest warrant, please bring a photo ID if you own one. You can bring your own bond money at the time of your surrender and use this to post bond if you choose to do so.

For all persons surrendering themselves to the jail, please refrain from bringing any personal belongings other than ID and cash. Any other belongings will be confiscated and held in property control until you are released from the jail, at which time your property will be returned to you.

For More Information

For more information about bond or surrendering, please call the Coles County Jail at 217-348-7332

Video Visitation

The Basics

  • Each inmate is allowed one 25-minute visit each week. The week begins on Sunday and ends on Saturday.
  • Visits will still be conducted on-site (at no charge). We anticipate adding the capability to conduct remote visits later this year.
  • Each visitor may visit one inmate each week.
  • You must be on an inmates approved visitors list to visit an inmate.
  • You must be 18 or older to be on an inmates approved visitors list.
  • Children under 18 must be accompanied by a parent/guardian.
  • If you are unable to control the behavior of your children during visitation the visit will be terminated, and you will be asked to leave.
  • Visitors will be required to present a state photo ID and register prior to visiting.
  • Visitors are not allowed to bring food or drinks in during visitation.
  • No cellphones, cameras, computers, or electronic media are allowed during visitation.
  • Once an inmate's visitor list has been approved, it will not be changed until the inmate has been in our custody for a minimum of 6 continuous months.
  • It is the inmate's responsibility to notify you that you are on their visitors list.
  • Visits must be scheduled in advance. You may schedule a visit by calling (217) 348-7332. You may schedule visits up to 6 weeks in advance.
  • Inmates on suicide watch are not eligible for visits.
  • Visits will be terminated any time an officer determines the behavior of an inmate or a visitor is disruptive or inappropriate.
  • A visitor's inappropriate conduct during visitation may result in termination of the visit, loss of future visits for the inmate and removal from the approved visitors list.

Visits may be scheduled at the following times:

Tuesday 9:00AM - 11:00AM 12:00PM - 3:00PM 7:00PM - 9:00PM
Wednesday 9:00AM - 11:00AM 12:00PM - 3:00PM
Thursday 9:00AM - 11:00AM 12:00PM - 3:00PM
Friday 9:00AM - 11:00AM 12:00PM - 3:00PM
Saturday 1:00PM - 3:00PM
Visits must be scheduled at least 1 day prior to the day you wish to visit.
All visits are monitored and recorded.

What do I need to do?

  • Schedule your visit by calling (217) 348-7332 at least 24 hours in advance.
  • Present your state photo ID to the office staff and register in the visitor's log.
  • You will be assigned a specific visitation monitor. The office staff will direct you to the visitation area.
  • You will step into the appropriate visitation booth and close the door. When it is time for your visit your monitor will connect with the inmates monitor. You can speak with the inmate through the handset on either side of the monitor.
  • At the conclusion of your visit the monitor screen will clear. Place the handset in the cradle on the side of the monitor.
  • Exit the visitation booth and return to the front of the building to leave.

Inmate Information

Inmate Rules & Regulations
Commisary List